Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

12 February 2012

Shocked and Sad to hear Whitney Houston's death

What happened to her? She was only at the age of 48.

She was a big star for me since I was in high school. My most favorite song was "I want to dance with somebody" and "Love is a contact sport."

In 1988 and 1989, I went to her rock concert held in Fukuoka where I used to live.

I enjoyed the concert very much. From a far away seat, I could notice her tall and slender figure. Her voice was just beautiful. When the words like "I love you" was heard from the spectators, she responded by saying "I LOVE YOU, too" and "I wish I could speak Japanese."

I remember what she said in the interview with Japanese music magazine at that time.

"I cannot be an actress in America because I am Black woman. There is no offer for Black woman."

But later she made her successful actress in the movie "Bodyguard" co-starring with Kevin Costner.

In that film she not only did great act but she sang great songs with great voice.

I can no longer hear her singing, dancing and acting. That is so sad to know.  

Gomeifuku-wo-oinorishimasu (Japanese way of praying for the dead people with respect. Literary it means "I pray for the happiness in the heaven.")

13:09 Posted in Music | Permalink | Comments (0) | Tags: afro-american

The comments are closed.