Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

05 July 2009

TV drama: "Cashmere Mafia" Elite women in America

I just happen to rent a DVD of this TV show. A story of 4 successful working women in New York.

Lucy Liu, Chinese American actress seems to be a main character. This is surprising thing. Asian woman took a main role in a popular soapopera.

The story features America's latest social movement but some of the things depicted were kind of surprise to me, even in 21st century American society is still conservative like Lucy Liu character's fiance cancelled engagement after she got promoted a head of him, a housewife woman harasses a working woman, and a top executive woman do not want to divorce her husband although he had an affair with another woman. 

 

But the drama in fact reflects today's social movement such as openly lesbian relationship. Not just lesbian but also interracial.

 

America has really changed.

 

But this is the story of elites, tip of the big American society, that doesn't represent avarage of the society.

Actually most American women in the same age group as them are struggling to survive, working at much lower wages, cannot afford medical insurance, auto insurance and college education for their children. Such harsh reality was described in a novel I wrote on this blog.

 

Pathetic, poor working class people are watching this show to escape from the reality they face. They dream of becoming rich and successful elites while watching this show.

I, myself grew up so I cannot enjoy such phony show any more like when I was younger. I know it is just an illusion.  

I do not admire America any more. The below photo is my current image of America. Sorry.

seijouki.jpg

The comments are closed.